Do Schools Kill Creativity?

5 07 2008

UPDATE 8/8/08: Good article here from Clayton Christiansen: How To Change The Way Kids Learn.

I graduated high school at 17 with limited skills and prospects. I never made it to college. The only thing I was good at was having ideas. That’s still how I earn my living today. I create ideas for advertising, interactive, and for business.

I never liked formal schooling, but today I study harder than ever. The Web is an incredible teacher. The TED Conference has put a treasure trove of video presentations online. Click here to watch creativity expert Sir Ken Robinson on “Do Schools Kill Creativity?”. It’s brilliant: funny, fascinating and touching. I highly recommend it.

P.S. Do schools kill creativity? What should change about schools? What do you think?