It’s Not You, It’s Me (Social Media Blues)

17 06 2008

“Look, there’s no easy way to say this. You’re a great brand, and I like having you around. I’m just not ready for an intense relationship right now with a brand of butter. It’s not you, it’s me.”

“I can’t Twitter with you all day. I don’t need a butter recipe widget. I don’t want to play a butter Flash game, even if it gets me points for coupons. Why do I need to friend you on MySpace and Facebook? Can’t I just butter my toast and move on? Sure, we have a relationship. But I don’t want to be engaged every second of every day.”

Social media has a place for all brands. But it’s dangerous narcissism to expect more engagement than consumers want to give.

Tossing theory aside, the reality is some brands are Angelina Jolie and some are Mike Tyson.

As consumers, we may be thrilled to luxuriate in Angelina’s attention, but probably wouldn’t want to spend more time with Mike than we really need to.

What about your brand? Is it an Angelina Jolie, or a Mike Tyson? What sort of social media strategy you ought to have depends heavily on who you are, and what kind of relationship your consumers want.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 06 2008
Tom Hespos

I used to think that low-consideration brands were inappropriate for social media. That is, until I saw there were around 10,000 people in a Facebook group called “Addicted to ChapStick.” And that’s just one group.

I thought the “I don’t want a relationship with Tylenol, I just want my headache to go away…” line was great, but then I discovered that just about every brand has its rabid loyalists. You may not be able to engage them constantly, but they’ll engage when it suits them.

18 06 2008
John Clapps

Good post. I enjoyed it. Want more.

Brands are asking for more and more of the one commodity I have less of – time.

John

Leave a Reply

