It’s Not You, It’s Me (Social Media Blues)

17 06 2008

“Look, there’s no easy way to say this. You’re a great brand, and I like having you around. I’m just not ready for an intense relationship right now with a brand of butter. It’s not you, it’s me.”

“I can’t Twitter with you all day. I don’t need a butter recipe widget. I don’t want to play a butter Flash game, even if it gets me points for coupons. Why do I need to friend you on MySpace and Facebook? Can’t I just butter my toast and move on? Sure, we have a relationship. But I don’t want to be engaged every second of every day.”

Social media has a place for all brands. But it’s dangerous narcissism to expect more engagement than consumers want to give.

Tossing theory aside, the reality is some brands are Angelina Jolie and some are Mike Tyson.

As consumers, we may be thrilled to luxuriate in Angelina’s attention, but probably wouldn’t want to spend more time with Mike than we really need to.

What about your brand? Is it an Angelina Jolie, or a Mike Tyson? What sort of social media strategy you ought to have depends heavily on who you are, and what kind of relationship your consumers want.





A Compendium of Stolen Ideas

17 06 2008

Welcome to the first post to my new blog. How did you get so badly lost that you ended up here? Images from the Wizard of Oz spring to mind. But still… welcome. 

You won’t find any true thought leadership here, at least not today. I’m just settling into this.  But I hope at the outset to least make this a useful compendium of stolen ideas.

I’ll start by sharing what I’m reading that’s interesting. If you’re cool with that, so am I.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.